What's new

Remembrance Day

Sinfulwolf

H-Section Moderator
H-Section Moderator
Reputation score
Today as I write this, is November 11th. Now for some of you this may not mean anything, but in Canada it is Remembrance Day. A very particular day where we remember those that have fallen in the service of their country. Whether it be from the Boer War or Afghanistan. Dieppe or Vimy Ridge. Korea or Bosnia.

And for me, time to remember some good friends that were taken home in a box.

And so I went on parade with my unit, listened to "In Flander's Fields" read by a veteran, and I was thankful for what those who came before me did, and I was thankful to see all in my platoon make it home alive.

So now I raise a beer, and drink up. For while I do believe in remembering what those in the past have done for us, I'm a soldier too, and I know how soldier's would like to be remembered.

And so, any Canadians, any soldiers, or any who would like to give their respect to the fallen, raise a glass with me, and remember the dead.

Chibichibi

Big Sis
Reputation score
Re: Remembrance Day

So it's like Canadia's version of Veteran's day.

Cool.

I'll toast to that.

OP
Sinfulwolf

Sinfulwolf

H-Section Moderator
H-Section Moderator
Reputation score

Thank ye Chibs.

Serpentar

Lurker
Reputation score

I have respect of any solider that fights to defend liberty and freedom.

"I am sick and tired of war. Its glory is all moonshine.
It is only those who have neither fired a shot nor heard
the shrieks and groans of the wounded
who cry aloud for blood, for vengeance, for desolation.
War is hell."
From "On Killing" by Lt. Col. Dave Grossman

Should be remember by those that give the cry for War. My salute to those that died serving, served and are still are.

DarkFire1004

Tentacle Goddess of the H-Section
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Reputation score