Slight problem with Alice, a character can only have a single companion.
Was talking with Tassadar about that while writing.
First off, I note that with the companion talents you can only have one companion, though I'm not seeing anything prohibiting taking more than one of the companion talents (though they are marked such that you can't take, say 'arcane companion' more than once). Would it be a possible reading that you can take more than one of the talents, but can only have one companion at a time?
You can take more than one if you want.
How you want to play it is up to you, though. If you'd prefer only one companion, it shouldn't be too hard to re-write that part of the sheet to use the permanent contraption rules for Hourai and drop the book.
After getting an opportunity to sleep, however, I'm once again leaning towards Ran... .