What's new

Adult Game Design: Difficulty in "Fail to Rail" Games

Klenee

Reputation score
This is my opinion, I'm not a game designer, criticism welcome!

Monster Girl games (or other games that feature a submissive protagonist) often have most of their lewd content locked behind a loss event, i.e. when you get defeated, your enemy gets to have their way with you. If you happen to win, you can of course watch the scene later in the gallery, but getting sexually dominated by an oponent that bested you in a (fair) challenge can really spike your arousal if you're into it; I like to call this feeling "Sweet Defeat". However, I personally get this feeling only when I actually tried my best and still got defeated fair and square. The point is, I want to fail by genuinely losing, not by losing on purpose.

This brings me to the difficulty of those games. Ideally, you want to progress in the game without getting frustrated or bored but you also want to experience the Sweet Defeat, that's why you play an adult game after all. In normal, non-adult game design, the game ideally increases its difficulty along with the skill you gain while playing the game. This puts you in a state of flow, where you constantly face fair challenges, which you can feel accomplished about. In our adult games however, losing is kind of the point, ideally the player fails each challenge exactly once. This way, he can experience the Sweet Defeat and lewd scene, followed by the feeling of accomplishment after beating the challenge on the second try. Overall, this allows progression in the game without frustration.