What's new

Possible to learn a language by yourself?

UrusaiSenpai

Sex Demon
Reputation score
So. i had this thought for a long time that i should start learning japanese.
I have been playing and watching anime for almost 2 years now, but recently there is a lot of virtual novels that i also want to read but sadly can't.
I have also been talking with an friend that we want to visit japan next year.

So i took the first step few months ago and downloaded some free but also bought some App on my phone that i should help me memorizing Hiragana & Katakana first.

Since i'm getting closer and closer to memorizing all these symbols
i got a copy of "Genki course I & II" (to them that don't know what that this. it is Textbooks that should help with learning japanese)

I will soon start on that, but before i start i wanted to ask you guys
is it possible to learn a language by your own or should i just sign up for a language course and get professionel help?

(By the way the reason i'm not signing up for that the language course instantly it is because it's pretty far away)

dmronny

Lurker
Reputation score
Re: Possible to learn a language by yourself?

It's possible to learn on your own at least when it comes to reading and writing. Learning to speak would be a lot more difficult without some kind of instruction however.

Getting a head start on your own by learning the alphabet and how to read an write before getting actual instruction isn't a bad idea. When I learned Korean in the army we started off by learning all those more basic skills before actually being put into a class with native instructors. Listening and actually speaking with either native speakers or an instructor is pretty much a necessity to really learn the language in my personal experience however.

Zepheral

The Dark God Of Lesbians and Memes
Reputation score