What's new

Rayzero's hobby begginings

Rayzeroa

Demon Girl
Reputation score
Ello, before I start the post I would like to come up with several excuses for my artwork;

1. I studied programming game engines as such art was not really involved in anyway.
2. I have two left hands and I'm right handed.
3. I have ran out of excuses but stopping at two seemed lame.

Right, so I decided while fapping away I need a hobby and it would be nice to be able to make something that takes a bit of time and has a form of end goal so in my stupidity I decided art. However I cant really draw and have no practice with any of the techniques so I decided to "take/steal" artwork and try to convert it into a sprite/pixel like image. None of this is ever gonna be for profit but I do have a want to improve it.

So the reference I used;

I choose Renamon because i was aware of her colour scheme and I'm a Digimon fanboy. (And making a furry sprite, I hear its popular so more feedback xD)

That lead to this second stage where i just tried to break the drawing up into shapes then erased it to create black outlines. Then put in just solid singular colour so i could identify each area. This was the part I was like, yay it somewhat looks like something sprite-ish?

Now the next part is where I get clueless, I don't understand shading or the use of light sources when it comes to artwork. I understand the concept when applied to a ball im like look that parts white and it gets darker on the opposite but in practice to anything... full brain shut down. I just made it so if things overlap I make it darker and if its near the bottom its darker? Forgive me artists.

Now we get to the part I was like, Imma just move on to the detail additions because i forgot the nose because derp and purple lining/body art unsure how she got those mad birthmarks but they cool.