What's new

The Dividing Line - Security Cells

Shrike7

Lurker
Reputation score
Re: The Dividing Line - Security Cells

"It's just..." Caitlin hesitates a moment before continuing. "Do you think your culture could survive without violence? Live in peace with the other races? I know you donkt believe it, but as far as I know, you and your ship are the last of your kind. I think I could, using you as the template, get the Ashotur up and alive again, and introduce enough genetic diversity to keep the gene pool viable, but I couldn't do it if all that would do would be to start another war, so... I would have to effectively remove your propensity for violence, at least down to the level of a human's. I just don't know if I should. I mean, would you consider that a fate worse than death for your entire species? I just, don't know who else to ask."

OP
Rule 34

Rule 34

Lurker
RP Moderator
Reputation score

"Kraken, woman. I didn't expect something so deep. I'm just a soldier." Pkaric hisses and shifts his position. "Question is of course how much of this is genetic, and how much is behavior. I told you about the tribes that were against the war, right? Those were mostly the ones on the outer rim of our territory, where they had plenty of space and enough resources. They were unlike us, unlike the core around the High Empress, in constant fight about food and. . . stuff." The Ashotur grows quiet. "If we were to start again, would we make the same mistakes?"

Shrike7

Lurker
Reputation score

"I think you mentioned something about competition between Swarms, but I think that was it. I find genetics have a lot to do with aggression, though you are right, not everything. Space was a problem at the core of your worlds? maybe a drop in birth rate... I'm sorry, I'm treating the revival of your species like some science fair project, I need to learn to be more tactful. I just cant bear to see such diversity as an entire planet laid to waste like that."

OP
Rule 34

Rule 34