What's new

Beginning Game Design/General Programming Thread!

Twisted1

Mystic Girl
Reputation score
Hello, everyone!

This past year or so, I have really grown to like the idea of designing/programming games, but as a budding college student my experience rested solely in playing them. I'm taking a class now (in C++) and studying on my own, but I figured that every bit of inspiration, every little hint, every book suggestion would help me on my path.

Anyway, I'm hoping to use this thread to share and gather any and all tips, tricks, and suggestions that I (or any of you) can find that relates to any sort of programming or game design. I don't have much to contribute, unfortunately, as I've just started learning a couple of months ago, but here we go anyway!

Though I've recently stopped using this book for one reason or another, I've found Beginning C++ Through Game Programming by Michael Dawson to be a far more interesting read than most C++ books:

I guess what I'm really looking for is direction and good tutorials, but anything will help, and this thread isn't just about me! Anyway, please post anything you find that might be helpful to a beginning game creator and/or novice programmer! Thanks in advance!

Shrike7

Lurker
Reputation score
Re: Beginning Game Design/General Programming Thread!

I did a little bit of programming in high school. Can't remember too much of the specifics unfortunately, but I do remember the most important thing I was told when writing larger programming files. Write more notes than you need, all over it. and a big one at the end of every session, to remind yourself exactly what you were doing when you set it down. eventually, your code will grow so large that you can't remember exactly what everything is in there for, so it's best to get in the habit early.

Good luck and have fun!

Tassadar

Panda King
RP Moderator
Reputation score