What's new

Translation Help/Dilemma

Xecty

Jungle Girl
Reputation score
So i have been dying to translate a full game from start to bottom, sadly i dont know Japanese i have some vocabulary knowledge but cant read or write. this is where i hit my dilemma im using various tools to machine translate a game and as all of you guys know machine translation dont make much sense. so far i am able to make decent partials for most game but nothing else as far as translating the actual scenes from the game itself i hit a wall.
Is there actually a way to normally convert machine translation to decent quality translation without knowing japanese?
Also which order of scenes will it make me easier to translate going by events on each map or by the common event section?

elfloren

Tentacle God
Reputation score
Re: Translation Help/Dilemma

The thing that seemed to work for me when I started translating was skip any text you can't seem to translate fully, and translate the easier phrases. After you get the hang of grammar and stuff it gets somewhat easier.

And you'll always find some walls of text that won't make sense in any machine translation, so you'll have to break them down and work a lot on those. Also, there are some words that are literally in no dictionary. I dunno if that's slang or weird words the creator uses, but yeah.

I'd recommend to start translating a game and seeing how it goes. It's actually quite fun translating stuff, at least for me.

ToaruLL

Sex Demon
Reputation score

Hey, i can understand your frustration I used to be the same before delving deep into learning japanese when i was 15.

But as for machine translators that aren't completely horrible, I used this helpful tutorial (in my signature) on a weblog all credit guys to them by the way to make your machine translator slightly more readable. I also use VNR instead of what they're suggesting like ith and so on but you do need translator aggregator and agth i believe, either way all the best.

OP