What's new

A rant about gaming.

Alias

Lurker
Reputation score
Hello all, new member Alias here, again hoping to provide some meaningful discussion. This time I want to get my anger about the gaming industry out in the open. Since you don't know, I am an aspiring game designer. My major is declared as Game Design and Development, or GDD. I am a competent programmer, and a somewhat-less-than-adequate artist. I know several programming languages, including C++, C#, Java, and ActionScript. I have played many games over the past years of my life, not as many as I would like to, but more than perhaps the average person. This is something I've been mulling over in my head for a while.

My view of games is that they are a form of art, not just entertainment for the masses. Unfortunately, I think that is a line that has become blurry or nonexistent lately. Let's go back and look at forms of entertainment. Dance. Music. Cinema. Theater. Animation (cartoons). All of these are also classed as Arts. Other arts include photography and making pictures with a variety of materials, from wood to stone to canvas to notebook paper, from charcoal to oil pastels to simple graphite pencils. Writing is another huge one, whether it's simple dialogue or an epic. What do games have in common with these? Well... they incorporate almost EVERY one of them. Games have soundtracks. Games have sound effects that must be recorded or synthesized. Games have animation, movies, some have photos, some have singing, most have acting, if only with their voices, some even have motion acting (a few memorable titles include that awful flop Enter the Matrix and Guitar Hero 3).